PDA

View Full Version : Blatent copyright violation


Drew Phillips
08-11-2006, 05:34 PM
Check out this site:

http://www.conceptcarposter.com/

I think it's been around for a while. How is it still up?

(It's kind of tricky to find what I'm talking about - click browse in the top left, even though it doesn't appear to be a link).

Jim Sykes
08-11-2006, 07:10 PM
Messages sent to contacts at VAG and giving it to another photographer that does work for Toyota/Lexus and Honda.

Hope he wont be around for long.

Zerin Dube
08-11-2006, 07:39 PM
I sent a message to my Ford and DCX reps as well.

John Jovic
08-11-2006, 09:17 PM
I'm not defending the site at all (I have nothing to do with them) but I wouldn't jump to the conlusion that they are infringing anyones copyright. Many car company marketing departments are more than happy to flood the media with images which they have commissioned. I'm not saying that's the case with every image on this site, but I know for a fact that it is with at least one of them, which I recognise and know a little about.

JJ

Todd Corzett
08-11-2006, 09:57 PM
The issue here is less of the displaying of the images (I wouldn't consider this site media, but let's overlook that for simplicity's sake)... it's with the selling of the images as posters, which I'm quite sure is NOT part of the "media flood". I know if I found one of my images on that site I'd be sending them a nice fat bill!

-Todd...

Zerin Dube
08-11-2006, 10:44 PM
Manufacturer press sites make the copyright policy very clear on their sites. The photos are free for use for editorial purposes, and are not to be used for commercial purposes without consent. I doubt this guy received this consent :)

Todd Spoth
08-12-2006, 03:40 AM
comon guys cant we just ask him to add APN to his list of "KOOL KAR SITES" and be done with it? ;) keke.

John Jovic
08-12-2006, 12:05 PM
I've emailed the owner of the relevant site about this thread asking him to comment.

JJ

Mike Ditz
08-12-2006, 05:10 PM
A similar thing popped up a couple years ago. That guy turned out to be based in the Ukraine. I think Transstock went after him for a while.

I can verify that a lot people on the internet, and people who are new to "the business" feel that anything on a press site (or any site for that matter) is fair game for them to use as they see fit, whether putting their logo on images that they have nothing to do with other than reproducing them (legally or not) or snagging someone else's shot for the banner of their website. There is also this idea that a mullti billion dollar multi national corporation would think it's a good idea for some guy in Podunk USA 'helping" them by distributing photos...:rolleyes: